After a third smiley face OPK, a little more eggwhite cervical fluid, and what appears to be another temperature jump, I am hoping that I am now 3 days past ovulation. I am hopeful – not even necessarily that we are pregnant, but just that an end to this confusing cycle might finally be in sight. La is still very hopeful, and I am grateful for that. I feel weirdly calm during the beginning of this two week wait. I suppose I’ve gotten used to waiting, and at least there is a marker to count time by right now.

Even with this change of events, I was still feeling more than a little peeved that I still had not heard back from my doctor about my questions. I called yesterday and when none of the nurses I’d spoken with were available, the pent up frustration and confusion and exhaustion of the situation all got let loose on the poor receptionist. I hate doing that – this poor woman had 0 control over anything, but she was incredibly kind and very helpful. She made an appointment with a new doctor for me and sent a message to the doctor I had been seeing.

Lo and behold, 20 minutes later I got a call back from that doc. Her immediate suggestion (before she’d even managed to clarify what was going on or what my questions were) was to make a referral to the Advanced Reproductive Medicine department and have them give me clomid, injectibles, follicle monitoring and IUIs. Never mind that my concerns were not about not having gotten pregnant, but about having a 48+ day cycle after 16 years of 31 day cycles, my missing period, my possibly incredibly late ovulation . . .basically, nothing about not getting knocked up. When I explained that 1) we don’t have any intention of doing those things at this point and 2) we couldn’t afford them right now anyway and 3) that was not what I was asking about, anyway.

I clarified that my questions were primarily if she could increase my synthroid dose and when it would be appropriate to look into additional diagnostic tests if my period continues to be AWOL. It still took a lot of coaxing to get answers to those questions, but I do have them. If my period still isn’t here in another two weeks or so I can call her and she will prescribe provera to bring on a period and reset my cycle. And she will retest my TSH at that point as well. I have an appointment with the new doc (“the best we have!” the receptionist promised) on April 4th, where I can discuss this and whatever else might happen between now and then.

So, I have a plan, and I like having a plan. I’m glad I’m clear on the ineptness of the doc I had been seeing and have made arrangements to see someone else. I’m hoping this doctor might also have a smidgen more LGBTQ competency, as I have no doubt that the suggestion about IUIs and clomid came in response to my queerness – I sincerely doubt that the same suggestion would have been made to a nervous heterosexual woman one month into trying to conceive.

I wanted this post to be more than just a  litany of what’s happened. But the situation with doctors has exhausted me, and I suppose that exhaustion carries over here too. I’m impressed with those of you who put up with these kind of shenanigans throughout the entire process. I cannot imagine having these experiences AND having those people as gatekeepers between me and getting pregnant.

I’m excited by how many of my blog friends are knocked up! Yee haw!

3 thoughts on “

Add yours

  1. Ha, there’s nothing wrong with the post!

    Keep in mind, one of the side effects of Synthroid can be delayed ovulation/bleeding, so increasing the dose might help in the longterm but might not be immediately apparent.

    Also, I’ve definitely experienced the push towards medical interventions. Not from my regular doctor (who suggested a mason jar and a turkey baster) but at Clinic One. It isn’t surprising, (I mean, they’re a fertility clinic) but I was surprised with how quickly I got sucked into medicated cycles.

  2. We all have those weird rambly posts that aren’t exactly what we wanted them to be. It’s okay! I am grateful for the update.
    I hope this new doctor can get things figured out. And make it very clear from the start that you have had issues with the whole queer thing in the past and need an understanding of who you are to be part of the care you receive. And bring the receptionist a cupcake! Haha

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

