First, the stats:

Cycle Day 34, Day 8 of provera, with 4 more to go. Looking at the next cycle starting somewhere between the 24th and the 28th of September (CD41-45) So we are waiting to wait to wait. This distance from the process while still actively contributing to it is surprisingly nice. This must be one of the outer layers of limbo where things are just kind of hard, instead of full scale shitty.

This weekend, La and I took baby Liam overnight so his mom and dad could celebrate their anniversary (with take out chinese and sleeping in.) Cletus the bulldog was, of course, in love. At 7 weeks old, Liam is pushing 13lbs. He is also so so long, although I don’t have stats. Our people are big people. Of note, I find this a truly endearing quality in Liam but not so much in myself (see below.) Hmm, I suspect gender stereotypes are at play, even when I’d prefer they not. 

Image

Image

Finally got my test results back from last weeks blood draw [side note: why is it that something you didn’t know before a blood draw was no big deal but as soon as you have to wait for results it feels like themostimportantthing?] 

Mostly, they are good. I don’t have the run down in front of me, but it basically works out like this:

Metabolic labs (insulin, glucose, something else like this that measures insulin over the last month): all normal. I do not appear to be insulin resistant which is a score on a lot of levels. There was some confusion about whether I was fasting for the draw or not (I wasn’t) but I believe that was a question primarily because HAD I been, my insulin would have been very high. 

Hormone labs (testosterone, adrostene, etc.): high, although mostly only slightly high.

Because Dr. G just left a message on my VM, I didn’t have a chance to ask what all of this means. He mentioned that the metformin would probably only be prescribed if I had been fasting. So I’m thinking I’m going to get to dodge that particular bullet. He also mentioned another medication to block the male hormones, although the name he rattled off (which of course I can only, at best, guess how to spell) I haven’t been able to find.

I’m having a lot of feels about this. I mean, from the most pure medical-baby-making perspective, I’m glad to have some answers and the potential to get some support with balancing hormones to help me get knocked up.

But there is never, ever just that. Not when it comes to bodies.

I haven’t written a whole lot about how my feelings, past and present, about my body have contributed to how this process plays out for me. I have harbored a fear from nearly the start of this process that my body will not be able to get pregnant. I have felt this despite hearing – from doctors, nurses, clinicians, friends and my badass partner – that there is no reason to think this would be the case. I have assumed that my fatness would preclude me from being pregnant, because I have heard all of my life that my fatness stands in the way of my happiness (even though I do not believe this to be true, nor does it bear out in reality.) The messages I have received about my worthiness as a fat woman all of my life are not so easy to just discard.

My fatness is, for me, deeply tied up with my gender identity and presentation. I identify as femme, and that is an important part of my understanding of myself and the way I move in the world. It has been a rough road getting to a place where I embrace and perform my femmeness in unapologetic ways that feed me. For a very long time, I shied away from me desire to present and identify as femme because our culture divorces fatness from femininity. I feared being perceived as a joke, a caricature, of femininity and so I dressed and acted in ways that I didn’t feel good for me. Couple this with the fact that I am tall – just shy of 6ft with no shoes. I am, in all ways, BIG. I have giant hands, ski size feet, a big head. There is nothing petite or dainty about me. I have been mistaken for a man even when I was presenting in a culturally feminine way.

So these test results pull on my understanding of myself. On the one hand, I am irrationally proud of my metabolic panels. While I know that my choices about food and activity have likely contributed to having good labs here, I also know that insulin resistance is not the result of ‘poor lifestyle choice.’ (a term I don’t particularly like for a lot of reasons) and, particularly in PCOS, is a symptom, not a cause. The great obesity spectre tells us that fat people are doomed to poor health, and while I don’t really think someone else’s health is any of my damned business, I am also really like that I am not reifying that bullshit. I like having this confirmation that my fatness is not actually indicative of my health, even though I know full well that is the case, labs be damned. I don’t like that these feelings adhere to the cultural trope around fatness and health, that I maybe feel good about this because I am a ‘good fatty.’ I work hard to live out an ideal that ALL bodies are good bodies. So this is hard in a messy way.

But hearing that my levels of male hormones are elevated pulls on a whole other part of me. Despite how deeply I feel that femme describes and fits me as a gender identity, I have long felt like a fraud. This seems to make that so. This isn’t rational, it doesn’t make sense, not even to me. I know that bodies do not dictate genders, I work to live in a world where any constellation of bodies and identities can coexist. So why is it so hard for me to not feel like these lab results say something about me? As judgement free as my doctor (and probably every one else) is about what these results MEAN, there is a button that got pushed hearing those words. 

Of course, it doesn’t help that all of this is coming up about pregnancy. After all, what better marker of femininity exists than being a MOTHER? Yet another thing I don’t believe but feel on a deep, deep level. All of this is getting messed up, crossed wires, in my head and my heart and it feels so, so messy. 

Its amazing how things we can hold and sustain for other people come tumbling down in the face of our own struggles, the long buried narratives that still can have power over us. 

To cheer myself up today I put on the most babely outfit I could come up with. And then I took a picture and posted it. Because sometimes we fake it until we can make it, and we let our social networks help out.

Image

 

 

My guess is that these feelings, although coming up due in part to my unique circumstance, aren’t exactly unique. Other queer femme mamas or mama-wannabes out there who have struggled with this? Fat mamas? Folks who in general have had to feel all the feelings about the intersection pf parenthood (gestational and otherwise) and bodies (so, everyone?!)?

4 thoughts on “

Add yours

  1. Holy crap, you’re so beautiful. Seriously.

    And though I know as well as you do that fat isn’t considered to be feminine by the culture we live in, I always have to laugh a little (and derisively so!) at that attitude because having more fat is what makes the female body LOOK FEMALE. No fat = no big boobs, no boom-boom ass, no round hips (all things that are *also* considered to be markers of femininity by the culture we live in—we can have fat, but it must reside in socially-sanctioned places only). It’s so stupid, and your body is lovely, and it makes me angry that fat girls everywhere are made to feel like being fat automatically erases their beauty. I see beautiful fat women EVERYWHERE. And you are one of them.

    I know it doesn’t change the way you feel, but the idea that fat negates beauty is bullshit. And I will scream it from the rooftops.

  2. I think you have every right to irrationally be proud of your metabolic panels. Like you said, the greater culture in the US tells us that if we are bigger than a size 6 we are fatty mc-fat-fats- sloppy and unhealthy, which isn’t the case. If you work hard to eat well balanced foods and exercise you should celebrate good health and say “in your face!” to the dominant culture.

    I’ve always been chubby. Like you, in the very back of my mind I’ve been nervous throughout this entire process that my weight will prevent me from getting pregnant. Which is silly because there are plenty of women my size, larger, and smaller who get pregnant no problem. But yeah, when you get those implicit messages all the time about your body in the media you subconsciously buy in.

    As for the male hormones. It sounds freakier than it probably is. I’ve researched PCOS some in attempts to internet diagnose my freaky cycles lol. I’ve discovered plenty of gorgeous women have PCOS of all gender presentations and sizes. And most of them have kids. So lots of hope, you have some answers and a treatment plan. Good luck on the next leg of your journey and stay babe-a-licious! 🙂

  3. I would say to forget what anyone else says about physicality and gender. Gender is a socially defined construct and says nothing about us individually. If you know in your heart that you are feminine, you are! Don’t allow anything else to compromise that – not even insensitive, chauvinistic ideals of ‘skinny’ beauty.
    Firstly: If you are able to perform daily life activities with little physical stress, you have a reasonable blood pressure and you eat a moderately healthy diet, there is no reason to say that having womanly curves is unhealthy or unfeminine.
    Secondly: As women, we are biologically pre-disposed to laying down more adipose (‘fat’) tissue than men. It is biology. ‘Skinny’ women in primitive times would not have survived very long. A healthy woman should have curves.

    I remember when I was first diagnosed with PCO. The information that comes from research can really make us feel off-kilter sometimes, can’t it? I had difficulty myself getting used to the idea that my androgen (male hormone) levels were high. I started wondering if I was who I was because of these male hormones and if I’d be someone else if I didn’t have PCO. It hit pretty hard and made me really examine parts of myself I haven’t looked at in a long time. What I came away from the experience with though – and I hope that sharing this with you can help in some way – is that who we are, is who we are. Who we are can never be defined by labels or categories. It can never come from doctors, society, friends or even family. The only person who can ever come close to knowing you (notice I say knowing and not defining) is you – a beautiful, wise individual whose continued existence and development is evidence that there is magic in this universe!

    [lolz, spot the point where hormones take over. Sorry if this sounds a bit ramble-y but there is a point in there somewhere, if you can make sense of it, I promise]

    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous but oh so blessed life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous but oh so blessed life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

