well, shit.

I’m writing this mostly because I am nervous, again. And because maybe y’all will have some insight.

I started taking prometrium last week, per doctor’s orders, to start my period. He proscribed 200mg orally once a day for 12 days, and told me I would get a period 3-7 days after stopping the pills.

Today is day 10 (although I take them at night, so I’ve actually only taken 9 pills) and when I went to the bathroom, there was blood. Not a little pinkish tinge, but (pardon if you’re easily offended) dark, mucousy menstrual blood. 

So, I’m nervous for a few reasons:

1. I don’t know if this is ‘normal’ with prometrium and/or what it means that its happening. Maybe nothing, maybe something.

2. I don’t know if I should count today as day 1 of a new cycle. I will wait and see a) if more blood keeps coming and b0 what my doctor says (i have an e-mail out to him)

3. If today IS day 1, then I will be out of town from CD 12-14, which, you know, would suck. Because the initial U/S to check follicles would be day 12 or 13, with maybe an IUI on day 14? Of course, nothing is quite that easy to calculate when it comes to this, but that is definitely not the range of dates I want to be out of town.

So I’m trying to breathe deep and remember that I don’t have control over this. Maybe the prometrium made me feel like it (because if things had gone according to calculations, my work trip would not have interfered in the slightest)  but I’m not.

 

Anyone have experience with prometrium and have any insight?

 

4 thoughts on “well, shit.

Add yours

  1. Thanks, Lindsay. So far, I haven’t had anything beyond spotting, so I’m hoping full flow will hold out a few more days. The doc said to stop taking the pills though, so I have. So maddening!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous but oh so blessed life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

single ma in siberia

a single Australian queer's TTC quest/ parenthood journey

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous but oh so blessed life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

single ma in siberia

a single Australian queer's TTC quest/ parenthood journey

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

