The details.

I figured I’d give you all more details, because I am REALLY excited/nervous/terrified but there aren’t many folks I can talk to about it right now, as a plan for the telling must be developed and crafted.

It feels so surreal. Last Tuesday, L and I were sobbing our little hearts out about the dream of a move to Olympia, fostered lovingly for weeks, that was dashed. That night was so awful, because the decision felt so wrong. It was such an involved process, and it felt so clearly right. But the idea was gone in an instant. 8 days ago the dream was dead and gone. 8 days ago this other potential path wasn’t even on the radar. 8 days ago, I hardly even remembered that I’d applied for this job.

And now, it looks like we are likely going to move to the Seattle area in two months.

I feel like I’ve been very vague here, so I should catch y’all up.

So, when L was in the middle of the process with the school in Olympia, this job came across my desk. It’s a health educator position with the family planning section of the Seattle King County health department. I have worked with these folks before, because they wrote and publish a really incredible curriculum which I sought out and got trained in a few years back. The training was even more impressive than the curriculum, and I got to know one of the trainers because I enjoyed it so much. I’ve stayed in touch with them as they’ve begun a process of doing more involved research on the program and publishing it more widely. Which is how I ended up getting the job announcement.

I submitted my application at the end of April, and aside from the standard ‘we received your materials’ e-mail, I didn’t hear anything until last Wednesday, when they asked me for an interview, which happened last Friday afternoon via skype. They told me that day that they would likely call my references and get back to me with a ‘preliminary decision’ by today. The preliminary decision turned out to be a job offer. I’m sort of in shock because the last time I got a job offer after a single interview, it was for a part time retail gig while I was in college. Since then, I’ve always had to do at least a phone screen and an interview, if not 2 or 3 full interviews. My imposter syndrome is on high alert!

And the offer is DREAMY, y’all. I knew that a job with public health was a good gig, but I didn’t realize HOW good. For starts, the annual salary is almost 10 thousand more than I make now. In addition, the medical and dental insurance is fully covered (ie: I would pay no premium) for my entire family. We currently pay $140 per month for Ansel on the healthcare marketplace, and another $150 for L through her work. This benefit puts that money back in our pockets, plus the money I pay pre-tax for my insurance at work (nominal, but still.) They also have a mother fucking pension. Y’all, no one has pensions anymore! There is a pay increase at 6 months, and then annually thereafter. And all of the other folks in this same position that I know have been there for 10+ years, which speaks highly of the kind of work environment.

The job itself also sounds fabulous. I’ll be housed in a family planning clinic, and my job duties will include providing one on one sex education to youth at the clinic, as well as providing some sex ed in schools, training teachers to implement sex education in schools, and doing outreach to increase the number of youth accessing services at the clinic. The role I’m in now is HIGHLY administrative, and I miss doing on the ground work with young people in communities. I left that work because it almost always paid much less than the boring admin roles. So it’s exciting that I’ll be able to do the stuff I love. The job sounds really autonomous and varied, with tasks really varying day to day, which I also love. The clinic I’ll be in is in South East King County, so actually about halfway between Seattle and Tacoma. And because the salary is good but still not enough for Seattle proper to be affordable, we’ll probably be in Tacoma or the surrounding area.

They are being incredibly flexible with start date, and so we are aiming for August 15th for me to be out there and ready to work, getting a lease secured for Aug 1, with some time to move out there in the weeks between. I want to give my current job lots of notice so I can really fully wrap things up and leave in a good place. I have loved my time there. I still adore my colleagues. My boss is incredible, and the culture has been magical.

But, it’s also definitely time to leave. In the last week, there have been multiple conversations about the budget that have left me feeling less than secure about the organization. My current job would be the last (or close to last) on the chopping block, since I run a 5 year federal grant. But we are in the hole already, bare bones budget, with a board of directors that doesn’t seem to get what ‘fundraising’ means. There will be no raise this year, and if things don’t turn around quick, it’s only going to get a lot worse.

I’m ready for this adventure. And, I’m also terrified.

For 4 of the 9 weeks we are planning to be here and prepare to move across the country, I’ll be non weight bearing, in a cast, on a scooter. There’s a house to pack and sell (lucky for us, we are in one of the best sellers markets in the country, in a house that is in a very marketable price range and a good area), a job to close out, a rental (hopefully short term), and the general logistics of moving three dogs, two dykes and 1 baby from Colorado to Washington state.

Well. Here we go.

Gratuitous picture of Ansel, who, thanks to the Happy Sleeper, has been laid down in his crib awake the last three nights, smiled up at me, rolled over and gone to sleep and then slept for 12+ hours:

13403755_10153689591916864_6419606579451270806_o

31 thoughts on “The details.

  1. Oh Hun, Congratu-well done! I’m so so happy for you. I don’t know whether it’s fate or fortune, but either way; both are on your side.

    The job sounds amazing! I bet you can’t wait to get started. Well done, sweetie. X

  2. Omg! Amazing! I’m so happy for you. 🙂
    Also the parallels: Lady’s new job starts Aug 15th as well, we plan on making our move on the 1st, and she has to use her kneewalker and not carry heavy stuff for at least another 3-4 weeks. Maybe you two should exchange tips. 🙂 We’ll be driving through the Denver area on our way to MI and if you were still there I’d say we should exchange high-fives!
    And the whiplash, wow, of crushed dreams to fulfilled ones. I didn’t want to say anything when the first offer fell through because I kind of hate it when people are overly optimistic, but I had a very good feeling something else would come your way soon. 🙂
    ❤ Aaah, so exciting!

    • we are TOTALLY on parallel paths, and I affirm high fiving – even if it’s just from the highway! I expect both Lady and I will be doing lots of box labeling and sorting! 🙂 It totally feels like after all this up and down, this is exactly what was supposed to happen!

  3. The excitement I’m feeling for you is overwhelming. This was pretty much my dream job and its still something I would LOVE to do but I’m out of the field now. I’m so happy that you guys are moving where you feel like you should be. I’m glad the housing market is good. In just so flipping excited to follow you on this adventure!
    Is there potential for LA to get non-tenure track positions for now?

    • Yes, there are a lot of schools in the area. She’s planning to start sending her CV out now to get some adjunct gigs. Even though it’ll still be adjunct, it won’t be at her current place, with her current (awful) colleague, and there are new paths to investigate. She’s excited!

  4. Dude, all of that sounds amazing! I’m so excited for you guys! And it was 12 years ago, but I lived in Tacoma for about 6 months and actually really loved it. Like the memory of living there always has me wanting to move back to the PNW after I’d gone back to California. Plus it’s close enough to Seattle that day/weekend trips are easy. Anyway, CONGRATS again!

    • Yay! Good to know! I actually feel great about Tacoma – Seattle is way too expensive and I’m just not in the place in my life where I’ll pay a premium for city life!

  5. Wow this is amazing! The universe worked its magic for your guys 🙂 I am envious of your new job and location! How did you get into your field? I would ultimately love to be able to do what you do. Congratulations!!

    • I actually started by providing education on sexual assault prevention, and then when I worked in a drop in center, I volunteered to do the sex education programs. From there, I started looking into other opportunities and made my way to the org I’m at now, which is very specifically focused on sexual health. It’s a fun field, for sure!

  6. It’s absolutely amazing how all of this came together! So exciting! How’s your mom taking it? I’m pretty in awe of you guys for being so ready to just pack up and leave Colorado behind! Someday, I would love to do that, but not until after my mom retires because she goes where we go! I would be lost without that woman.

    • I haven’t told my mom yet, and I’m dreading it. I don’t think she will be supportive or happy for us. But I also think this is about the best thing that could happen for our relationship. It’s tricky because we need to tell her soon, but she has a graduation from a church program she’s been doing on Sunday and I don’t want to rain on that parade. Plus I’m scared and avoiding!

      • My heart is with you, girl. That’s going to be a tough conversation. My mom and I worked together for years and the minute we stopped, our relationship improved tenfold. Absence truly makes the heart grow fonder.

  7. This is fantastic news! There are a bunch of great neighborhoods between Tacoma and Seattle. The public transit into Seattle is fantastic, which will be so much fun. Congratulations – you so deserve this big break!!

  8. Your current job is in a limbo stage that I find scary and would be so happy to go elsewhere. I’m glad the perfect opportunity came along for you to get back into what you love. The young people there will gain so much from your experience. Happy moving and selling!

    • it’s totally scary! I do love my boss and trust that she is very transparent and really doing the best she can, but things are for sure not super stable and it’s a good time to leave – before the ship really starts sinking!

  9. I’m trying to maintain my excitement level here because I know you have real life PNW friends but let me tell you, I am so freaking excited. You’ll only be four hours away from us! We’ll be going through your new city after you move! I mean, yes, the job sounds amazing and all that too but so close to us! I have govt benefits too and that’s no joke – it makes a slight increase in salary a big deal. Do you know folks in the Seattle area? I have an internet mom friend who lives in Everett that you would totally adore.

    • Yay! I’m super excited about our new proximity to lots of folks – including YOU! We have a few friends in Seattle, but would also welcome more – especially parent friends, since my good friend is partnered but not interested in having children. So please, pass along!

  10. Welcome to the Seattle-Tacoma area! I came here from Colorado in 2000. Love it. Housing prices are stupid but you know that coming here it sounds like. Tacoma is a great option, or Burien is the up and coming South King Co. ‘hood. There are a few places on the “never list” for same sex families but not many. Message if you want any info, and congrats! Baba

  11. Awesome news!! You will love the PNW! I moved here from Southern California almost 6 years ago and LOVE it. We rent in Seattle, but have been researching outside of Seattle for home buying, it is insane how expensive it is to live here.

  12. It sounds freaking amazing, and HELL FUCKING YEAH a pension!!! That’s the MAIN reason I took my job in the government sector, and the benefits package is freaking BOMB! I, like you, pay NOTHING for my medical coverage for 5 PEOPLE, and once Mary is adopted, it will be for 6 PEOPLE! So i hear you so hard on that! This is so fucking exciting for you! I mean, it puts you clear across the country from us here in NY, but it give us one more family to visit if we head out there…LOL! And also, you just seem like the type of family that would thrive in such a diverse area. Cheers to you guys, and good luck on the move!

Leave a Reply

