Falling into Place

Since last I updated you, our house in Colorado has gone under contract and we’ve signed a lease for a place in Seattle. With those two bookends handled, plus being able to walk again (hallelujah!) things are feeling significantly less stressful than they did when last I stopped by!

Last Tuesday, we hauled the menagerie out, A and the spaniel Eliot went to my mom’s house, the two bulldogs went to hang out with our friend and her great dane (Cletus LOVES that tall drink of water), Laurie took a much needed day to herself (she and her mom worked their hoosier asses off all weekend getting things set for the cleaners) and I headed to work. About a half hour in, I got my tell-tale wiggly line migraine aura and knew I had 30-40 minutes to get somewhere dark and cool before the blinding pain and nausea hit. Lucky for me, some of our friends had a lockbox on their house and weren’t home, so I went there and drank a cup of coffee, swollowed 6 ibuprofen, and laid down in the dark. I ended up falling asleep for FOUR hours, and waking up with only the residual migraine hangover. It did make me think, though, about how we won’t have that in Seattle. Not initially, anyway. I won’t have a whole crew of folks I can just reach out to when things are in a tough spot.

But, the house got cleaned, and that evening, our realtor showed it to someone. On Wednesday, the photographer came and took pictures, on Thursday our realtor showed the house to the same person + her husband, and on Friday we got an offer from this couple. Had we put it on the market, we likely could have gotten above asking rather quickly, but this way we will be able to close the day we leave for Seattle and not worry about any other showings, open houses, etc. And, we still got asking and will walk away with over $100K after commission and fees, so anything more would have felt greedy. This statement illustrates, in a nutshell, how different I am from my family.

I also, on Thursday, came across a listing for a house in Seward Park, in our budget, takes three dogs. I know next to nothing about Seattle neighborhoods, other than what my friends have told me. But I did know that Seward Park is near Colombia City, and everyone told me Colombia City is the cute queer family neighborhood. So, I sent my friend off to look at the house on Friday. When she reported back that it was in good condition, in a fairly safe place, and very close to her and our other friends, we decided to apply.

I forgot the bullshittery that is renting. Sure, you’re under a microscope financially when you apply for a mortgage, but somehow it feels like a more bureaucratic and official judgement – less personal. The landlord we talked to needled me about my job – was it full time or part time? Could I REALLY afford the rent? – about the dogs – were they ACTUALLY well behaved? why should she believe me? – about my KID – who was going to take care of him? how much would THAT cost? It’s hard not to feel like someone thinks you’re a liar. Despite providing an offer letter that included my pay rate and number of hours, documentation of my good credit, and my totally acceptance of the (outrageous) pet fee in order to assure her of my dogs good nature, I still got the haranguing. BUT, the lease is signed and the deposit is on it’s way to them, and we have an address to arrive at on August 6th.

And so now we just have to get from here to there. No problem.

In other, more interesting news . . .13600219_10153757129506864_2711988969654631651_n.jpg

Ansel is rounding the corner on 16 months! And it feels like he is gaining skills, words and adorable quirks almost daily!

  1. He has a bunch of new words: bubbles, beep beep, mooo (more like mmmm but always in response to cows), wheee, Cletus (clee- eee), Meemee (for L, mommy), choo choo and . . .more, I think. This plus dog, woof, bye bye – the ones he had before.
  2. He FINALLY signs “please” when he wants to nurse. Usually before dive bombing my shirt, but not always. This has been a hard won and long sought after battle.

13524499_10153752614881864_7485217501411655001_n.jpg

  1. He’s getting a molar! This will bring his total tooth count to 7 – still behind many of his peers, but exciting for his food enjoyment.
  2. Speaking of, the barfing due to texture is all but gone (knocking on every surface because you don’t temp fate when it comes to vom) and he’s enjoying a LOT more foods now! 13575878_10154317802189419_7842191726255564070_o.jpg

5. He wakes us up and wants to go outside to either blow bubbles or swing (he points and says “eeeee!” because that’s the sound you make on the swing!)

6. His tender heart cries when he hears his scout dog play lullaby music.

7. We took him to Tiny town last weekend and he LOVED the train. Followed it everywhere saying, “choo choo” and all but running to find it.

13516272_10153752614936864_3981913603878907799_n.jpg

The countdown is on: We leave for Seattle in exactly a month – on August 5th!

7 thoughts on “Falling into Place

  1. What a great update! I’m so happy things are working out so well for you guys, I’m sure it helps to take sone of the stress off. A is quite possibly the cutest child I’ve ever seen, seriously. You have a beautiful family!!

    Ps. For some reason this post isn’t showing in my reader!

  2. I’m so excited that things are falling into place! Hopefully you won’t have to rent for long. I so don’t miss it. It’s hard to feel like you’re living under a microscope on someone else’s house!

    Your kid is so damn cute!

  3. Congrats on the house find! Your friends here likely told you it’s a nuts rental market and most people look on average of two months before being the chosen ones for a rental home! You guys must be on your right path indeed for it to go that quickly! Super awesome!

Leave a Reply

