Heart over head

Yesterday on my way back from the bathroom, the tunnel vision, knee buckling collapse came so quickly that I couldn’t sit and instead came crashing down into a plan B sandwich board sign, first becoming confused then losing consciousness. Two public health nurses and a nurse supervisor found me, took my pulse and my blood pressure (both normal), then helped me back to my desk. The supervisor told me she couldn’t let me leave on my own, so L came to pick me up. I was told I had to call my neurologist. It was implied I should not return to work until I had some reassurance about what is happening. 

I called the doctor while I waited for L. The MA gig back to me and told me they’ve ordered 3 additional tests. A 48 hour holt monitor, the carotid duplex ultrasound (already  ordered and scheduled but not until June 2 as that was the “first available”- I’m told if will now happen in the next 4 days) and an EEG. 

They placed the holt monitor today, and I took the day off. It’s beautiful and I’m grateful for my family, but once again, I’m terrified. 

17 thoughts on “Heart over head

  1. I’m so sorry this keeps happening. I can’t imagine the anxiety surrounding the unknown, but I’m glad they are getting you in quickly for tests and hopefully you can have a resolution to all of this soon. We’ll be thinking about you. ❤

  2. I am so glad you weren’t hurt when you collapsed! And that you are getting more tests right away! I cannot even begin to imagine your anxiety and fears right now. Sending my love and wishing for the absolute best.

  3. Andie, I am so sorry. This is so scary. I wish I was closer so I could be of help in some immediate way. Holding you in my thoughts over the coming days. If you’d like to know what to expect from the EEG from someone who’s had 3, message me!

  4. Shit… 😦 I’m really sorry, Andie. What crappy timing too with all the loveliness in your life blooming. I’m praying hard for you down here.

  5. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. Thank goodness you are getting seen right away and you have a supportive family & workplace. I hope this round of tests gets you some answers. Holding you in my thoughts. ❤

  6. I don’t have anything to say that hasn’t already been said by someone else, but that doesn’t make any of it less sincere–I am thinking of you, Andie, and hoping for answers soon.

Leave a Reply

