A Clearing

Thanks for all the woo – It is definitely helping.

Today L had a biophysical profile/growth scan of Tiny . . .he is till Tiny, but seems to have grown appropriately. (??) His overall size is still two weeks behind (he’s measuring around 28w) but last week he was measuring around 27w so . . .I guess that makes sense? In any case, they want to continue checking his size – so we have another BPP scheduled for 2 weeks – but apparently he’s not “scary small.”

Sidenote: OBs are . . .hard. I was able to see midwives throughout my pregnancy, even after my pre-E diagnosis, and had midwives providing my care (in consultation with OBs, but the midwives were who I saw) throughout my lengthy induction, although obvs, an OB did my section. L has also seen midwives up until just a few weeks ago and I can say without a shred of doubt that we both VASTLY prefer midwifery care. The OB L has is nice enough, but she spent all of 10 minutes with us (after being 25 minutes late to the appointment) and hardly seemed to know L or her case. She answered questions, I just didn’t feel like she genuinely cared. I know it’s all preference and lots of people really like OBs and, of course, there are differences from one doctor to another but . . .if there is a baby #3, we’ll definitely be going back to midwives.

L’s BP was also totally normal. This means, basically, that she’s had 2 “scary high” readings (directly after we were told our baby was super small and then rushed off to the OB without much information so . . .maybe that had something to do with it?) and a couple of other slightly high readings that got her from the MW to the OB, but overall her BP has actually been fine. I’m not doubting the transfer of care or the diagnosis I’m just rationalizing to myself why I feel such relief. Basically I’m saying this: right now, L’s BP has been more normal than it’s been high, and that’s good news.

Her urine also only showed very trace amounts of protein. So . . .things are overall going well. We aren’t totally on safe ground, but it seems like the storm is clearing a little. I LOVE a good mixed metaphor. Maybe I should say, we aren’t out of the woods, but we’ve found a clearing.

We had a lovely weekend here in Seattle. Not the original plan, sure . . .but lovely nevertheless. We did some basic stuff like getting groceries (since we hadn’t for the week – expecting to be travelling), doing laundry and cleaning up the house. We also spent a day at Alki beach which was nice since it was one of the warmest days of the year so far. The water was still too cold to swim, but it was low tide so we played in the tide pools and dipped our feet in the frigid sound and played in the sand and looked out over the water at the mountains.19390938_10154749328546864_2842615082197903205_o.jpg

On Sunday, we walked in the Pride parade and hung out at the festival for a bit with some friends. I really think Pride festivals are for people who can (and want) to day drink and lay in the grass and don’t have any responsibilities. Because when you’re a gay mom, you just cruise the vendors for free reusable grocery bags and compost bins and complain about the noise and the crowd. Still, we danced to Mary Lambert live and saw some fabulous drag queens.19417224_10154753360951864_4444428788188203848_o.jpg

19441783_10155447860999419_842910193639940198_o.jpg

 

On Friday, L has her first appointment at the OB practice in Tacoma where we’ll be transferring. It will be interesting to see how they approach her care. The initial appointment is just with a nurse, as that’s their protocol, but I imagine with the various diagnoses (PIH, IUGR) we’ll see a doc fairly soon. L has another BPP scheduled in Seattle just in case it takes some time to get all of the care transferred. Being in geographic limbo while 8 months pregnant – not recommended.

On the upside, thanks to scheduling issues we went to a different ultrasound office than usual. At all of the previous scans, they’ve given us CDs of the pictures which is . . .nice? I guess? But who has a CD drive on their computer anymore? I suppose we could have taken the CD to a print-them-yourself picture place but it was always too much of a thing for us to do. But, at this place (where they also have the 3D capability – the tech showed us a couple of Tiny’s face) they e-mail you a link to the pictures and you can download them. So, here’s Tiny!

download (1).jpgdownload.jpg

And here’s L at 30w! Looking fabulous in my humble opinion.

19264421_10154753064821864_7280381775915333443_o.jpg

5 thoughts on “A Clearing

Add yours

  1. Oh, I’m so glad Tiny’s growing! 2 weeks behind isn’t too bad, either, just definitely something to keep an eye on. Here’s hoping your clearing becomes a clear day – wait, no – a big open meadow. With lots of happy buzzing bees. Yes.
    Oh Alki and the Sound. You have me missing Seattle.

  2. Hopefully your experience with OB #2 will be better. I saw both midwives and an OB throughout my pregnancy, and I have to say my OB was pretty much my favorite person on the planet during that time. She always spent so much time with me even though she was the most in-demand doctor in our huge hospital. She asked questions, chatted socially and was just so kind, caring and involved. I’m saying that only to encourage you that there’s a chance you’ll be pleasantly surprised by your Tacoma doctor. SO happy to hear that things have calmed down a bit. Grow, Tiny, grow!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous but oh so blessed life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous but oh so blessed life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

