Final Countdown

Another week, another round of appointments.

All good news – L & Tiny ‘passed’ the NST with flying colors, and BPP looks good – adequate fluid, good blood flow in umbilical cord, practice breathing.

Thanks to everyone for weighing in on the scheduled cesarean vs. induction question. While it’s not 100% yet, I think L is planning on starting with induction. Barring, of course, any further complications or developments. Next week is another growth scan and MFM appointment, NST and OB appointment. At the OB appointment, we will likely schedule the induction.

20451799_10154864111001864_5508033234974616265_o.jpg

In other news:

It’s too fucking hot in the pacific northwest.

Irony: A year ago (almost to the day – we moved on the 6th) I LOL’d about the “extreme heat advisory’ for the 90 degree + temps, since that’s just called “summer” where I come from. And yeah, it was hot, but whatever. L convinced me we needed to buy a small room AC unit and we used it for the next couple of weeks.

But now I’m used to the 50-70 degree range that Seattle stays in 10 months out of the year (it’s my fave temp range anyway!) and I prefer my life with a cardigan so I’m SO OVER the heat. Also my partner is 9 months pregnant and has cankles and I don’t want her to suffer, either. (side note: If #3 happens, I will be sure to get pregnant in the summer so as to avoid ever having to experience this pregnant-in-the-summer phenomenon.

L reported to me earlier today that a window AC unit was on sale at Freddies, so I guess we have one of those in our room now, too.

 

Last weekend one of our besties, who moved to Cleveland a year before we moved to Seattle, came to visit. She’s one of my most favorite people in the world. We only got to spend 36 hours together, but in that time we laughed a lot, she helped us shelve books and hang pictures, she played hard with our kid and gave us some tips for his more challenging behavior (former Montessori preschool teacher friends are the best!) and we all took a nap together on the couch while watching Golden Girls (napping in the presence of friends is one of my favorite things!) – which we can do because our new couch is huge! I’m really so grateful for friends who will continue to show up across distance, because it really re-energized me to spend time with her.

20543889_10154874984541864_3958445043964960471_o.jpg

And, we are implementing her suggestion to help curb Ansel’s love of throwing things off of tables (coffee cups, toys, glass lamp covers . . .)

IMG95201708019511011495850.jpg

So far, it seems like he understands the basic premise, and we are able to have a (limited) conversation about things when he engages in the less desirable behavior. This tool, like the others we’ve instituted (helping him name his feelings and find appropriate responses, the use of the phone timer to set clear boundaries about when things happen) feels like a good way to provide some structure without shaming or limiting his behavior unfairly. I want him to feel able to explore and play, and I don’t want to ‘punish’ him for things. I also want him to understand the value of his own safety, the safety of others, and keeping our things safe. Especially as we get ready to have a tiny baby in our home . . .

This weekend, A and I head to Portland (where it’s even hotter. Ugh) to celebrate our friend’s kids b-day, and to have a Mama and Ansel ‘vacation’ (this is how L is referring to it, anyway) We’ll swim and eat chicken nuggets (well, he will) and hang out with our friends. L will do baby laundry and put her cankles up on the AC, and we’ll all get ready for our last week as a family of three!

9 thoughts on “Final Countdown

Add yours

  1. I am also in the “life is better with a cardigan” camp, and my wife has had the misfortune on being in the third trimester in summer once and now (closing in on) a second time. Poor planning, I guess, but hey – birthdays in warmer weather?

    Our kiddo also does a fair bit of throwing, especially when upset or stressed, which is disconcerting knowing that we’ll soon have a newborn. We often say “we don’t throw because it could hurt someone, or break something”; I think your ‘Rules’ poster is probably a less abstract and more toddler-friendly approach to that idea, so thanks for that!

  2. I’m loving these updates – hearing good news about Tiny, counting down those last exciting weeks, seeing beautiful pictures of La, and watching your fam acclimate to the PNW! We had a SUPER hot summer the first year I lived in Eugene, Oregon (2008 I think?) and it was miserable. That didn’t happen again before we left in 2013. Hopefully this year is a fluke for you all!

  3. These are great rules! And yay for friends, healthy babies, and savoring your final weeks as a family of three! And in case I don’t get to say it later, best wishes to all of you for Tiny’s upcoming debut outside the womb!

  4. L looks great! Your friend’s idea is really cool- I may have to snatch it. I feel like sometimes I am just to worn down to care, but it is important to consistently reinforce the no throwing things rule.

  5. I love these rules and need them printed out in 20×30 paper to hang on my living room wall, and possibly ceiling, and in all bedrooms.

    Also, those Washington temperatures (sans the heat wave, yuck) pretty much sold me on the PNW, so thanks for that.

    Also, also, TINY! So excited everything is going well! Soon!

    Enjoy your vacation!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

the snearses

some vegetables, some cats

The MD & Me

~ my not so glamorous life ~

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Mama et Maman

A blog about two moms trying to conceive

Becoming Mommy and Mama

Two ladies on a baby adventure

YoungIVFerChantelle

My journey to get my Miracle.

(not) pregnant in rezza

a single queer's TTC quest in Melbourne, Australia

babamimi

"Your family needs a reality TV show"

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Raising Race Conscious Children

a resource for talking about race with young children

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

Papa Bear

how two boys made a baby

midwestmammas

lesbian, parenting, ttc, lgbt, baby

and baby makes 3

two moms and a new baby

